Bite Me, Brussels.

Reviewing food for the foreigners, without all the fluff.

Indian welcome?

Posted by rachelinbxl on August 12, 2010

Being British means that Indian food is as natural to me as fish and chips. I would not try to find good fish and chips in Brussels, so I had not tested any Indian restaurants. However, I have finally booked a trip to India this year and thought I should train my taste buds up a bit… so I started the search for a decent place. I actually went to Kohinoor back in June, but have been lagging on the blog. Kohinoor had good recommendations online and in newspaper clippings in their window. I don’t think the reviewers had gone in summer. We were the only people in the restaurant (though a couple turned up to collect the take away they had ordered). The waiter quite clearly felt he had better things to do than take care of us and I have never felt so much ‘in the way’ in a restaurant. That said, the food was good, the servings were very generous, and he packed up our leftovers to go. A restaurant I would recommend for takeaway!


The chicken korma was creamy, and served with good rice. The naan wasnt crispy enough for me… a bit too chewy.

The lamb biryani also had good rice, was spicy enough and had other veggies in it, as well as the vegetables in sauce on the size, that were very good. I ate all the veggies and sauce and so only took the rice home with me, but that was a good snack on my train to amsterdam the next day.

The restaurant is large and has an outdoor terrace. maybe I should try again on a popular day… and there is another branch of the resto that someone said was better….
to be continued…
Kohinoor
Rue Vanderkindere 232
1180 Uccle

Food: B
Atmosphere: C
Service: C
Price: B
Languages: French, English

One Response to “Indian welcome?”

  1. […] curry in the ‘Gourmet Capital of Europe’.  See Desperately seeking curry and Indian Welcome.  I had been meaning to try Sawad and Anarkali for a while. This post is about the latter, which […]

Leave a Reply

 
