Bite Me, Brussels.

Reviewing food for the foreigners, without all the fluff.

Best. Burger idea. Ever.

Posted by pieguybxl on February 11, 2009

cimg2986

I can’t believe I never thought before to top a hamburger patty with… a fried egg.  I’m sorry, but that’s just awesome.  I admit that this may not be the discovery of cold fusion, but I’m a sucker for fried eggs.   The idea works so well.  The richness of the soft yolk could complement the meat splendidly, if done properly.

My friend got it (~12 euros) by the Brouckère over at the Cheesecake Cafe, a large place which is more convenient than gourmet.  However, I have to hand it to them with this one.  Even though I technically could do this at home, if I were around the area looking for casual food, I’d go back just to order that burger.  I definitely would not reorder the unsatisfying cannelloni (~15 euros).

Cheesecake Cafe
Place de Brouckère 8

Food: C+
Service: B+
Atmosphere: B
Language: French, English sometimes

2 Responses to “Best. Burger idea. Ever.”

  1. Doc-G said

    Great post!

    The use of a fried egg on burgers is a common occurence here in Australia. You might also want to try adding some beetroot for a real Aussie style burger.

  2. kosmonik said

    I put a fried egg on my veggie burger all the time.

Leave a Reply

 
